Delaware penalties for driving without insurance: Each state requires your vehicle to be insured by law. There are some differences in the minimum liability coverage that must be a part of your policy. As a licensed driver in the state of Delaware, you are required to have at least $15,000 per person for bodily injury, $30,000 per occurrence for bodily harm, and $10,000 of property damage. This coverage is for the other people involved in the accident if you are at fault. The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles requires that all drivers carry proof of insurance, not doing so could result in a fine. Your charges could be dropped resulting in only having to pay the administrative fees if you provide proof in court that you had insurance on the date that you received your violation. Delaware happens to be a fault state. A fault state means that you will be required to pay any damages out of pocket if you get into an accident and are at fault.
What happens on your first offense of not having insurance?
- Fines between $1,500 and $2,000
- Drivers license suspended for six months
- Administrative fees of $100 for the first 30 days and $5 each additional day per vehicle.
What happens on your second and subsequent offense of not having insurance?
- Fines between $3,000 and $4,000
- Drivers license suspended for an additional six months
- Administrative fees of $100 for the first 30 days and $5 each additional day per vehicle
Delaware Insurance Auditing
The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles uses auditing as a way to catch individuals who do not have auto insurance. This is done by randomly selecting individuals with active registrations and sending them inspection notices. If the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles has a reason to believe that you do not have insurance, then you will be required to provide proof of insurance by a specific deadline. Failure to do so at all or by the deadline will result in the suspension of your registration.
What is a FR-19 Insurance Certificate?
Have you ever heard of an SR-22 form? If so, the FR-19 is very similar, but it is precisely for Maryland and Delaware. The FR-19 is a form that is used by the Motor Vehicle Administration or the Department of Motor Vehicles to verify that the vehicle that you have registered is insured. You can obtain this form any licensed insurance company that you hold your auto insurance with. What this form does is confirm to the state that you do have an auto insurance policy.
Need a quote today? Request one here.
For more information about penalties for driving without insurance in Delaware call your local Avery Hall Insurance agent at 302.629.4514 in Seaford, 302.684.3413 in Milton, or 302.337.8231 in Bridgeville.
Avery Hall Insurance Group serves the insurance needs of individuals, families, and businesses of all sizes throughout Delmarva and the Mid-Atlantic. Avery Hall is headquartered in Salisbury, with offices in Easton, Seaford, Bridgeville, and Milton.